This Scepter’d Isle

So I am an American. Born and raised in NYS (upstate, and no I don’t mean Westchester, Poughkeepsie or Albany). I lived in NY for the first 35 years of my life. I use the term ‘lived’ loosely. I existed. I ate (poorly), I slept (sort of), I worked (stress stress stress) and I went through life like I lived in a fog (in some cases in an actual mental fog, but that’s a tale for another day).

Until I decided to change my university major and pursue it on another continent.

In September of 2012 I picked up my entire life (not as easy as it sounds) and moved myself (and my cats! No, there wasn’t a quarantine) to London, UK. I decided if I was going to chase a degree in Museum & Gallery Studies and History of Art (and Design & Film) I wanted to do it someplace that had the best museums and sources of research. My choices were Florence, Paris or London, and of those three in only one I speak the language fluently.

I got into my first choice (unheard of in my life, I’ve never had first choice anything before!), got my ducks in a row (or herded my cats, as it were… sure as hell felt that way) and off we went.

I had a lot of adventures, but I guess this rambly post is mostly to do with feeling at home. I miss England and London, since I’ve been back in NY for over a year now, so much so it hurts. Every day. I’ve never felt more at home anywhere than I did in England (except Pennsic, but that only runs 2 weeks a year, so… 50 weeks of out of place). I’ve never felt and been more capable, self-sufficient, more ME than I was when I was there. Sure, I missed my friends and family (though they say it’s hard making friends once you’re over 30, I don’t find that to be the case) but in the internet age that’s less of an issue.

I’m hoping to move back, though I’m not sure if I’ll end up back in London. Edinburgh is looking VERY appealing right now, between affordability and graduate school options. (And if you’d asked me 5- 10 years ago if I’d be looking at graduate programs I’d have laughed at you and said ‘I don’t even have my bachelors and probably never will!’ Never say never, right?) By the by, if you know anyone in the arts and cultural realms in either city that’s hiring and willing to sponsor a VISA for a keen American, please do let me know. Or mention me.

 

Someone please hire me in my field. It’s my passion, and it took me years to find it so you know I’m absolutely certain of my path and choices.

Home is where the heart is. And mine is in a museum in the UK.

Leave a Reply

